Go online now to renew your driver license or instruction permit. If you delayed renewing due to the extensions, it’s time to act.
We’re planning no further extensions in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Check your license or permit. If its expiration date ranges from March 1, 2020 to March 31, 2021, please renew it as soon as possible. Continue reading “Extensions are ending”→
We are further extending most CDLs and CLPs with extension dates on or after March 1, 2020. This new extension goes through May 31, 2021. Print and show this new letter with your expired license or permit to verify your identify.
At this time, the TSA is not issuing a new extension for CDLs with a hazmat endorsement.
We are also extending the medical certificate waiver.
If your medical certificate expired on or after Dec. 1, 2020, we won’t downgrade your CDL through May 31, 2021.
Intrastate CDL drivers now have until May 31, 2021 to submit medical certificates.
We are continuing to extend Washington driver licenses and instruction permits. Extensions apply to licenses and permits expiring March 1, 2020 through March 31, 2021. Identification cards are not extended.
Extensions are in effect for a limited time. You can renew online in minutes. Most drivers and permit holders can renew online thanks to temporary waivers.
We’re continuing to extend the expiration dates of valid Washington state driver licenses and instruction permits. This applies to driver licenses and learner permits expiring March 1 – December 31, 2020. This gives you extra time to renew online or schedule an appointment without incurring penalties or late fees. Permit holders can continue to practice driving.
We extended licenses and instruction permits expiring March 1 – June 30, 2020 for 270 days past the date printed on the card.
We extended licenses and instruction permits expiring July 1 – September 30, 2020 for 180 days past the date printed on the card.
We extended licenses and instruction permits expiring October 1 – December 31, 2020 for 90 days. They now expire 3 months after the date printed on the card.
These days, the only way to get into one of our driver licensing offices is with an appointment. But with social distancing and other safety measures limiting our capacity, they fill up fast! If you need to visit one of our offices, try something different: online services.
We continue to transition more of our services online. We’ve worked to adjust our service model to try to help as many people as possible, as safe as possible. The health and safety of our employees and customers is always our top priority.
We put social distancing measures and other health guidelines in place at our driver licensing offices. Due to this, capacity is reduced and appointments are limited. This could mean waiting a while for an appointment date. Please go online first. Continue reading “Take advantage of our online services”→