Skip to main content

Official website of Washington State government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
State government websites end in .gov. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a state government site.

Https

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

More extensions for driver licenses & instruction permits

We’re continuing to extend the expiration dates of valid Washington state driver licenses and instruction permits. This applies to driver licenses and learner permits expiring March 1 – April 30, 2020. Those expiring October 1 – December 31, 2020 are also extended. This gives you extra time to renew online or schedule an appointment without incurring penalties or late fees. Permit holders can continue to practice driving.

  • We extended licenses and instruction permits expiring March 1 – April 30, 2020 an extra 90 days. This extends them a total of 270 days. This means they expire 9 months after the date printed on the card.
  • We extended licenses and instruction permits expiring October 1 – December 31, 2020 for 90 days. They now expire 3 months after the date printed on the card.

We aren’t issuing new cards showing the new expiration date. You need to carry documentation about these extensions while operating a vehicle. Present it with your expired document to anyone who needs to verify your identity. You can print letters for licensed drivers and permit holders.

The previous extensions to licenses and permits expiring May 1 – June 30, 2020 still apply. They are for 180 days (6 months) beyond the expiration date printed on the card. We extended licenses and permits expiring July 1 through Sept. 30, 2020 for 90 days (3 months).

You don’t need to wait until your extension is up to renew. Please renew online as soon as possible. Almost everyone with a license or permit is currently eligible for online renewal.

Our driver licensing offices operating by appointment only. If you can’t renew online, consider scheduling an appointment soon. It can take 30 days or more to get into your local office.

Drivers or businesses needing to validate an expiration date can check the status of a license.