We continue to extend the expiration dates of valid Washington driver licenses. These extensions apply to personal driver licenses that expire on or after March 1, 2020, through September 30, 2020. This will allow drivers to continue to drive without penalty or incurring late fees.
- If your license expires between March 1, 2020, and June 30, 2020, it’s already extended for 90 days. We extended it for another 90 days (for a total of 180 days). This means your driver license expires 6 months after the date shown on your license.
- If your license expires between July 1, 2020 and September 30, 2020, it’s extended for 90 days. This means your driver license expires 3 months after the date shown on the license.
The new expiration date will show up on your record when pulled up by law enforcement. You won’t get a new card. Please print and carry this notice and present it with your expired license.
We encourage you to renew online during this extension period. Most Washington residents can renew their driver license, ID card, or vehicle registration online. We suspended the need to visit a licensing office every other renewal.